Team Sponsors

An afternoon of exciting racing saw the Mildenhall Fen Tigers proudly sponsored by anchetts Rescue and Recovery secure another valuable three league points in their bid for a place in the National League Play Offs for 2019.

With a clear weakness at reserve just now, the top five were called on to perform as a unit and that is exactly what they did securing 46 of the 48 points amassed by the home side.

A rare heat one defeat for Danny Ayres was quickly followed by a 5-1 reverse in heat two and the Fen Tigers knew they were in a meeting! They quickly bounced back in heat three with Jason Edwards passing Danyon Hume with Charlie Brooks in third. The same pair combined for a 5-1 in heat five after Ellis Perks exclusion and the scores were level at fifteen apiece. A superb chase and pass by Ayres over Hume in heat six saw the Fen Tigers ahead for the first time and they were not to be caught.

A fine win from Henry Atkins was followed up in heat eight with a Matt Marson victory that saw replacement reserve William O’Keefe pick up and all important third place. Another 5-1 from the Ayres/Marson partnership saw the Fen Tigers go into the interval eight ahead. From then on it was all about getting heat winners which the Fen Tigers managed between heats twelve and fifteen, the highlight being heat fourteen where Brooks produced a stunning ride that saw him go from last to first.

Speaking after the meeting Malcolm Vasey said “This was always going to be a tough job for us with Elliot missing and Arran not firing yet, but the top five rose to the occasion and it is great to see them all performing as a team at the same time.

Matt and Charlie are now providing consistent solid back up to our top three and things are looking positive, we have another big meeting next Sunday when three points are again a must have. We can afford no slip ups at home but the way the lads are riding I really think a play off place is within our reach!”

Mildenhall Fen Tigers 48
Danny Ayres 14 (5 rides), Jason Edwards 10+1 (5), Charlie Brooks 8+1 (4), Matt Marson 7+2 (4), Henry Atkins 7 (4), William O’Keefe 2 (5), Arran Butcher 0 (3)

Leicester Lion Cubs 42
Danyon Hume 14+1 (7 rides), Joe Thompson 11+2 (7), Ellis Perks 9 + 1(5), Dan Thompson 4+1 (1), Ryan terry Daley 3+1 (4), Ryan MacDonald 1 (3) and R/R Luke Roddick