There turned out to be a pot of silver at the end of the rainbow for the Mildenhall DJS Fen Tigers – proudly sponsored by Manchetts Rescue and Recovery – with the news today that they are 2023 National Development League Knock-Out Cup [KOC] winners after Leicester Lion Cubs agreed to forfeit the second leg.

Called off four times due to the inclement weather making their track unsafe for racing, the East Midlands club had finally reached the end of the road after their inability to get the meeting on this weekend just gone and with the official end of the Speedway season on 31st. October and so no time to attempt another staging, the decision has been made to forfeit which means a win for the DJS Fen Tigers.

After the trials and tribulations of this protracted Cup Final saga, it’s a very happy ending of the long season (Mildenhall actually won their semi-final in this competition incredibly all the way back in April); and now the riders and fans can look forward to seeing the KOC trophy presented along with medals to the team members at the End of Season Party on 11th. November

Team Manager Jason Gardner is understandably very happy at the outcome,

“On a personal basis, I am over the moon to have a winners’ medal in my first sole season as Team Manager, but more importantly really pleased for the club, the volunteers and supporters that we have the KOC back in the West Row trophy cabinet. It's also a reward for missing out on both titles last season. Of course it's a shame that we didn't win on the track but that was out of our hands.”

The cup win makes Speedway history as it’s a record fifth victory in this competition for the Suffolk club – the last being back in 2012. 

The Mildenhall management issued the following statement,

“Whilst it is great for the club to win another trophy, obviously it is not the way we would have wished. Hopefully this situation will see the sport take a serious look at Speedway taking place in October and look in future to finish the important competitions by the end of September, leaving the final month of the season for clubs to run individuals/open meetings etc. should they wish to.

“As a club we would like to dedicate the trophy to our Supporters, Sponsors, Officials and Staff. It is well documented that before this season there was a real danger of us not being able to run. But due to the generosity and backing from many people we have made it to the end of 2023. Hopefully this is a fitting reward for them and we look forward to seeing as many of them as possible at our End of Season Presentation evening where we hope to have the Cup and to present medals to the team.”

Social Media Links

facebook logo

Instagram logo

Club Honours

2023 NL KOC Winners
2022 NL Runners Up
2021 NL Champions
2018 NL Trophy Winners
2017 NL Trophy Winners
2014 NL Trophy Winners
2012 NL Champions
NL Fours Champions
NL Pairs Champions
NL KOC Winners
NL Trophy Winners
2011 NL KOC Winners
NL Runners Up
2004 CL Champions
CL Fours Champions
CL KOC Winners
CL Trophy Winners
2003 CL Champions
CL KOC Winners
2002 CL Trophy Winners
2000 CL Cup Winners
1987 Fours Champions
Pairs Champions
1984 Fours Champions
1979 NL Champions